The Alleged Video of the Mariupol Bombing Disseminated with a False Description

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Reading Time: 2 minutes


On February 24th, Facebook user Shota Apkhaidze published a post about the mass bombing of the Ukrainian city of Mariupol. Notably, the sound of an explosion can be heard in the video. According to the description, the city of Mariupol is being bombed en masse.

The video is being disseminated with a false description. In fact, the video was released on January 29th and, according to the description, instead of a large-scale bombing of Mariupol, it actually depicts a thunderstorm at a power plant.

The video was first published on January 29th, 2022, by the Tik-Tok user @kiryshkkanew. According to the description of the original video, the footage shows a lightning strike at the power plant. Indeed, in the video, one can first hear a strong sound, then a flash of large-scale lightning followed by massive light, which presumably indicates the explosion of a building.

The aforementioned TikTok account shares videos of explosions on a regular basis.

The video with the fake description was fact-checked by the Turkish analysts as well.

Notably, Russia has also initiated an aerial attack on the city of Mariupol after launching a large-scale attack on Ukraine.

For more information about the local stream of disinformation around the Russia-Ukrainian conflict, see the following materials:

The article has been written in the framework of Facebook’s fact-checking program. You can read more about the restrictions that Facebook may impose based on this article via this link. You can find information about appealing or editing our assessment via this link.

Read detailed instructions for editing the article.
Read detailed appeal instructions.

Topic: Politics
Violation: Disinformation
Country: Russia, Ukraine


Shota Apkhaidze
Shota Apkhaidze
More Posts

Last News

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist